Becoming the Pharisee

A Critical Analysis of the Church Today

Did you ever take those quizzes to find out which character you’re most like from your favorite book or TV Show? I think I’ve lost count to how many I’ve done, but every so often I find that I get a character I generally did not like, and have the immediate thought of: “How? There’s no way I would ever be like them. I’m better than that!”. Of course, upon further self-reflection, I sometimes discover that there are similarities.

Now, have you ever had that same thought when reading about the Pharisees? For example, have you ever thought: “How could they deny Jesus? Why don’t they believe/trust him? Why are they so hypocritical?”

Or did you ever think that the Pharisees were meant to represent those who seek to destroy or manipulate Christianity? Well…what if I told you that they could very well represent the Church destroying itself?

Blasphemy!

I know how crazy it sounds, but hear me out!

A little background information on the Pharisees:

  • The Pharisees were a group of religious leaders and teachers who believed in the following all the laws in the Torah (600+).
  • The Pharisees spoke the Word but eventually began adding to God’s Word for their own personal gain, and came to the decision that their added traditions were just as important.
  • Jesus actively called them out for being hypocritical and pointed out that they had forgotten 3 important rules of following Christ – justice, mercy, and faithfulness (Found in Matthew 23).

As much as I would hate to admit it, I’ve seen some of these characteristics in some of the Christians I’ve known growing up. I know a lot of Christians who are very active in the Church, are good about memorizing and quoting scripture, take part in religious events, etc. However, when they come into contact with someone outside of the Christian realm – their attitudes change. I’ve seen some of them act more hateful, not even think to reach out to help, or don’t think they’re worth helping because their actions have already sent them down a path to Hell.

If I’m being honest, I know I have not always been merciful, and have certainly not always been faithful. On top of that, I know I have been hypocritical at least a few times in my life. The thing I worry about is if the Christian lifestyle I spoke about in the previous paragraph continues, I think it could be the Church’s undoing.

In Matthew 5, the sermon on the mount, Jesus discusses the Beatitudes. In case you need a reminder:

And he opened his mouth and taught them, saying:

Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.Blessed are the merciful, for they shall receive mercy.Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God.Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons[a] of God.10 Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.11 Blessed are you when others revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account. 12 Rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven, for so they persecuted the prophets who were before you.

Looking at this scripture, we often use this to reference the Church, in part because Jesus is speaking to His disciples but also because I think at one point the Church fit this description.

Today, I’m not sure we fit this description anymore. Yes, the Church is small in number compared the amount non-believers but we have certainly made an impact on the world – and I don’t think it’s always been in the right way.

I no longer see the Church as the meek, the merciful, and the peacemakers. Lately, I’ve seen more persecutors and those seeking to use His word for personal gain. There’s been a bigger focus on “Me” and “My faith” and I certainly think there’s been a lot of learning and teaching of His word, but not a lot of following through – much like the Pharisees.

In fact, it appears we have done well to work on our personal faith journeys, but we have lost the art communal faith.

It’s easy to get lost. To forget what God’s true purpose is. It’s easy to think that what you’re doing is for God’s purpose, when it may actually be for your own personal gain. That may include only preaching that “as long as you follow all these things, you’ll get into heaven” or only trying to bring as many people into the church as possible but not truly helping them to understand God’s Word or help them in building a relationship with God.

It’s also very easy persecute those you don’t agree with, or those you think are going down the wrong path instead of showing them love and mercy. Within the last year alone, I think I’ve seen more persecution against non-believers than I have in my lifetime. If this is you, you may think it’s righteous judgement or justice for God. However, I would argue that your heart has been hardened and that, like the Pharisees, you have forgotten mercy. You have forgotten what it means to reach out to those are really in need.

You have forgotten to love.

Church, I know this may be hard to hear, but please re-evaluate your motives, and do it often. What are you preaching about? Who are you preaching for? Are you allowing your personal bias to deter what God is really trying to say? The Pharisees believed they were doing the right thing even though their hearts were not in the right place. So, think about where your heart is today.

Author: WhitANay

I'm the person who doesn't like to talk in public because I stutter, but if I write something down, it seems to change everything - even my own perspective.

Leave a comment